FIRM BUT FAIR with Cool Celtic Calm

Frank Hembling. Englishman. Never Forgotten. He was my platoon sergeant when I landed in Berlin aged 20. He gave me the big (new recruit, first posting) talk.

I Am Firm but Fair.

He was known as FBF Frank.

He didn’t much like the tweak of my upper lip that was the start of a smile.

We were allowed to watch this series as kids.

MacKay was always a favourite Argyll and Sutherland Highlander. Even my Dad laughed.

When FBF Frank put my future husband and I on a patrol duty together – he lost all faith in my ability to be a Royal Military Policewoman. I suddenly had access all areas. The Berlin Wall, the Reichstag, the Olympic Stadium were Jesse Owens won in front of Adolph.

Another fave from Porridge is Jim McLaren aka The Black Watch.

But MacKay (Muckeye) was always Firm but Fair. With a bit of Grieg – that Norwegian composer who mis-spelled my family name :o)

Edvard Hagerup Grieg was born in Bergen, Norway (then part of Sweden–Norway). His parents were Alexander Grieg (1806–1875), a merchant and the British Vice-Consul in Bergen; and Gesine Judithe Hagerup (1814–1875), a music teacher and daughter of solicitor and politician Edvard Hagerup.[6][7] The family name, originally spelled Greig, is associated with the Scottish Clann Ghriogair (Clan Gregor).[8

Leave a Reply