Glorious Sunsets in the Village

Wow. Gifted.

The past few nights we have been gifted with sunsets the likes of which we’ve Never seen before.

These are the times when I wish I have the skill and wherewithal to photograph properly.

Tonight we are all golden and grey but last night was spectacular.

Eldest son came down and ordered me to open the front door and LOOK.

All was purple and orange.

Apologies. I only have an ipad.

Yes. That’s the view from our front door.

St Margaret’s Church and above.

You’ll rarely find yourself in a Lincolnshire village that has houses older than the village church but in this case it is true. The mud and stud thatch cottages in this village were the blueprint for the very first  houses built in Jamestown America in 1607, not only that but probably built by the same carpenter as well.

St Margaret’s has had a couple of rebuilds since Norman times. Firstly in 1744 and then again in 1879 which is what we see today. It’s primarily built of Greenstone and is in the ‘English Decorated’ style.

*****

Our new family member is verger of St Mary’s church in town. She went into this church the other day and got talking to the Vicar. She was made partly in charge of St Margaret.

Only villagers are buried here now.

Not me though. I’m having a Viking funeral with my ashes blown to the four winds :o)

Leave a Reply