The Meditations of Marcus Aurelius

I have owned a book of Marcus Aurelius’ Meditations for half a life time.

There is so much of the “stoic” inside of me.

Maybe it comes from Lily, my paternal grandmother. Maybe it’s just inborn.

For days now a song has been running in my head…Running Up That Hill by Kate Bush.

I’ve done this physically and metaphorically. Lily taught me to go through my problems and NOT ignore or deny them.

What is a Stoic?

A person who can endure pain or hardship without showing their feelings or complaining.

The crazy thing is…I have LEARNED to “complain” (aka Give Voice To) because some events and experiences are too disgusting to keep quiet about.

And with that has come acceptance.

New Chronology equates Marcus Aurelius with Jesus Christ. The man who bore the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune with the mind of a stoic.

?

Leave a Reply