The Lady Vanishes : Another Hitchcock Film

How am I?

Under the weather.

Not ill. Not well. Just slightly m’eh.

Thanks for asking.

!

I’d have to be three quarters dead before I spend a day in bed so I’m being pale & interesting on the sofa watching what used to be (when I was a teenager) my second fave film ever. After Wicked Lady…which also stars the beautiful, enchanting Margaret Lockwood.

In true Hitchcockian fashion (of later times) this film builds slowly. Layer upon layer. Seemingly inconsequential upon inconsequential.

WTF is it with those two annoying English blokes who talk about cricket all the time?

Where the eff did the nuns come from?

Why use such an annoying bloody tune that, when remembered, solves the problem?

Shoes and Steamy Windows?

Watch the film before watching the video below. Even though the reviewer mentions The 39 Steps. To my mind – the thirties was/were Hitchcock’s Finest Hour.

Or not. Your choice.

I HATE being given a heads up before watching!

Leave a Reply